Sharing Music

We watched this clip in Core Design today. Tod Machover wrote an essay in a book we’re studying, entitled “My Cello”, published in Sherry Turkle’s Evocative Objects: Things We Think With. I was very eager to hear about his work, and I am intrigued by his development of new musical instruments and technology.

Dan Ellsey, who has cerebral palsy, uses one of these “hyperinstruments” and the music software Hyperscore to compose his own music, one of which he preforms for the audience.

I am floored.

I cannot in a million years fathom what it must feel like to compose and perform music for the first time, when you never could in the past. Music has been a part of my life as long as I can remember, and I couldn’t imagine what life would be like if I couldn’t sing. No piano. Not even the flute or guitar I sometimes dabble on.

Ellsey’s performance brought tears to my eyes (yup, in the middle of class). The opportunity to create and share music is indeed something very special, and I think everyone should have that opportunity.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

