Christmas with the Bach Choir

I sing alto with the Vancouver Bach Youth Choir (VBYC), a member of the family of the Vancouver Bach Choir. This is my third year singing with the organization, and it’s a delight every year. Choir has been a part of my life ever since I was ten years old, and I’ve been singing long before that as well.

Music keeps me sane. I’m so fortunate that I found VBYC as soon as I moved to Vancouver back in 2007.

I remember soloing often when I was younger, but I shied away as I got older. Just recently, I’ve been getting back into soloing as I regain my confidence, despite the fact that I’ve never actually had a vocal lesson. Simply put, it’s exhilarating when the ears of hundreds are listening to you.

We had our Christmas concert last weekend, and I had the opportunity to sing in a quartet for a verse of  “Ding Dong Merrily on High”. Eeek! In the Orpheum! I don’t even remember how many people must have been there, but it was many! I’m proud of myself for stepping up to the plate for once.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

