“With a Lily in Your Hand” Kinetic Type

This evening, I finished my first attempt at kinetic typography. For our core design class, we ended the semester creating videos with the objective of using moving type to convey emotion. This is my first time using After Effects, though I am certain it won’t be my last. Kinetic type is pretty addicting, although I like it in short doses. I don’t know if I could animate an entire song and spare my sanity at the same time.

We weren’t required to have sound in our video at all, but inside I was screaming, “No sound required?! But this is the perfect opportunity to set type to music!” This is where my background in music comes in–I sifted through my entire music library for hours, brainstorming songs I could animate. Disappointingly, there isn’t a lot of choral kinetic type out there, hence I wanted to try content that hasn’t been done.

Back in my senior year in high school, our choir director would give us listening sessions. We would sit back and relax in darkness, as to get the best listening experience, and this is where I was first introduced to the contemporary composer Eric Whitacre. I soon bought his album and have been hooked since. I selected his song “With a Lily in Your Hand” because it has a strong energy about it, yet is dynamic enough for experimentation. When I hear music, I imagine it visually as well as aurally. This was my chance to express how I imagine music. I hope I did the song justice–at least for an amateur.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

